Prevent Child Abuse North Carolina (PCANC) announces the election of its fiscal year 2020-2021 executive officers: Jed Hysong, board chair; Barbara Morales Burke, board vice-chair; Dee McDougal, secretary; and Michael Olander, treasurer. The executive officers will lead a team of 16 statewide volunteer leaders dedicated to child well-being and family strengthening efforts across North Carolina.

Jed Hysong is a CPA and Chartered Global Management Accountant (CGMA) with over 20 years of accounting and finance experience and is a member of the American Institute of CPAs and the North Carolina Association of CPAs.  He has been actively involved on PCANC’s operations committee since 2012, its board of directors since 2013, and served as board treasurer from 2014-2016, and vice chair from 2017-2019. Hysong earned a bachelor’s degree in business management and a master’s degree in accounting from North Carolina State University. In addition to his service to PCANC, he served on the board for the Healthy Start Foundation from 2010 to 2016, was the board chair during FY 2015-2016, and has served on the board for the Triangle Chapter of Wrestlers in Business Network as the treasurer since its inception in 2014. Hysong lives in Pittsboro with his fiancée Jeanette Ragland, having successfully released his son, Miller, and daughter, Helena, into young adulthood.

Barbara Morales Burke is the Vice President of Health Policy for BlueCross BlueShield North Carolina. Her time there follows more than two decades of public service, including 18 years for the State of North Carolina. Morales Burke earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Fordham University as well as a master’s degree in health administration from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Morales Burke is involved in additional work to support healthy early child development, as a board member (since 2013) and current board chair of Wake County Smart Start. She has a long tenure of working to fight food insecurity, as a board advisor to Feeding the Carolinas (since 2017) and through past board service to the Food Bank of Central & Eastern North Carolina (2009-2018) and the NC State Association of Food Banks from 2011-2017. She resides in Raleigh, NC with her husband.

Dee McDougal is the Senior Vice President, Diversity & Inclusion at Pacific Western Bank. Prior to her current role, she was vice president of marketing and communications at Square 1 Bank, and her previous experience includes roles of increasing responsibility in financial services and commercial real estate development at companies including Credit Risk Management, Concord Hospitality and Regency Centers. McDougal earned her bachelor’s degree in communications studies from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. In addition to her service to PCANC, McDougal currently serves on the boards of directors of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Durham and Orange Counties and Empower Dance Foundation, and as a member of the American Bankers Association Diversity & Inclusion Advisory Group. She was named one of Triangle Business Journal’s 40 Under 40 in 2018, and was included as a BizWomen Headliner and Rising Star by American City Business Journals. She lives in Raleigh, where she was born and raised.

Michael Olander is the former President and CEO of the Apple Gold Group he founded in 1984.  The Apple Gold Group was a franchisee of Applebee’s Neighborhood Grill and Bars, operating more than 130 Applebee’s Neighborhood Grill and Bar restaurants in North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Kentucky, Indiana, Oklahoma, and Arkansas. In 2018 he sold the Apple Gold Group and as the President of Phoenix Restaurants, LLC and is currently in the process of developing both Rise Southern Biscuits and Righteous Chicken along with Zambreo Mexican with a Mission in the Carolinas.  Olander has been named as one of the 50 most powerful people in North Carolina business industry by Business Leader Magazine. He previously served on the PCANC Board of Directors from August 2008 through August of 2014 and has joined in serving as a board member again since August of 2016.  He served as co-chair of the communications committee in FY 2018-2019, chair of the operations committee in FY 2019-2020 and also served on the governance committee and strategic planning committee in FY 2019-2020.