Staff

Prevent Child Abuse North Carolina does not handle reports of child maltreatment. Learn how to report suspected child maltreatment. 

To reach a staff member by phone, please dial 919-829-8009 and enter the appropriate extension number.
For media inquiries dial, extension 619.

Sharon Hirsch, ext. 600

Sharon Hirsch, ext. 600

President & CEO

shirsch@preventchildabusenc.org

Christy Bradsher, ext. 604

Christy Bradsher, ext. 604

Finance & Administration Director

cbradsher@preventchildabusenc.org

Eric Canino, ext. 605

Eric Canino, ext. 605

Prevention Programs Specialist

ecanino@preventchildabusenc.org

Andrea Clark

Andrea Clark

Prevention Programs Specialist

aclark@preventchildabusenc.org

Stacey Cunningham

Stacey Cunningham

Prevention Programs Specialist

scunningham@preventchildabusenc.org

Abel De Luna

Abel De Luna

Prevention Programs Specialist

adeluna@preventchildabusenc.org

Kristie Demers, ext. 619

Kristie Demers, ext. 619

Communications Manager

kdemers@preventchildabusenc.org

Monica Hicks

Monica Hicks

Prevention Programs Senior Specialist

mhicks@preventchildabusenc.org

Kimberly Ingram

Kimberly Ingram

Prevention Programs Director

kingram@preventchildabusenc.org

Anne Korfas, ext. 612

Anne Korfas, ext. 612

Philanthropy Associate

akorfas@preventchildabusenc.org

Dawn LeBlanc

Dawn LeBlanc

Event and Meeting Coordinator

dleblanc@preventchildabusenc.org

Virginia Liverance, ext. 601

Virginia Liverance, ext. 601

Administrative Assistant

vliverance@preventchildabusenc.org

Taylor McDonald

Taylor McDonald

Partnership Engagement Manager

tmcdonald@preventchildabusenc.org

Suzanne Metcalf, ext. 608

Partnership Engagement and Communications Director

smetcalf@preventchildabusenc.org

Nadia Moreta, ext. 612

Nadia Moreta, ext. 612

Partnership Engagement Manager

nmoreta@preventchildabusenc.org

Melinda Neal, ext. 61

Melinda Neal, ext. 61

Bookkeeper

mneal@preventchildabusenc.org

Natalie Pillay, ext. 618

Natalie Pillay, ext. 618

Staff Accountant

npillay@preventchildabusenc.org

Melea Rose-Waters, ext. 614

Melea Rose-Waters, ext. 614

Policy Director

mrosewaters@preventchildabusenc.org

Theresa Ryan

Theresa Ryan

Donor Database Manager

tryan@preventchildabusenc.org

Danielle Schenk

Danielle Schenk

Data and Evaluation Manager

dschenk@preventchildabusenc.org

Kathy Smith, ext. 602

Kathy Smith, ext. 602

Prevention Programs Senior Specialist

ksmith@preventchildabusenc.org

Claire Veazey

Claire Veazey

Development Director

Prevent Child Abuse North Carolina does not handle reports of child maltreatment. 
Learn how to report suspected child maltreatment and find more resources. 

Step 1:

  • Please make your report of suspected child abuse or neglect to the county Department of Social Services (DSS) where the child lives; visit the Directory for all local county DSS contacts described below.
  • If you provide your contact information when making the report, you will receive a notification as to whether Child Protective Services (CPS) will or will not investigate the case. If the CPS worker assigned to the case determines there will not be an investigation, you may contact the CPS Supervisor.
  • If you are still not satisfied with the outcome after contacting the CPS Supervisor, you may contact the Director of the local DSS and state your concerns.

Step 2:

  • If you are not satisfied with the outcome at the local DSS level, call the Child Welfare Policy Consultation Team within the NC Division of Social Services at 919-527-6340, and Administrative Support Staff will direct your call to the next available consultant.

If you Suspect Child Maltreatment in a Child-Care Setting

Step 1:

  • Reports of maltreatment at licensed OR unlicensed child care facilities may be made to the Regulatory Services Section Division of Child Development and Early Education by calling: 919-527-6640 / 800-859-0829 or (In-State only) / 919-527-6500 or (Fax) 919-715-1013.

Step 2:

  • To determine resolution: You may request a copy of the complaint visit summary four to six weeks after making a report by calling 1-800-859-0829 to speak with a file room clerk.
  • Click here for more information